Cuffed Jeans and The Boots with the Heels

a fashion fanatic, chocoholic, and a DIY devotee

Designer Kate: Morris Louis Shirts

Leave a comment

Courtesy of the Baltimore Museum of Art

Courtesy of the Baltimore Museum of Art

Courtesy of the Museum of Modern Art

Courtesy of the Museum of Modern Art

I first saw this artist when I went a curator tour at the Baltimore Museum of Art. She talked about how Morris Louis used unprimed canvas to create his pieces of art. She said that the primer makes the paint stick to the painting. Instead of staying in its place, the paint on an unprimed canvas gets absorbed and spreads out more. She said that the second painting was on unprimed canvas that he folded in half. Since cotton is similar to unprimed canvas, I was inspired by him and made shirts using that technique. 

Basically, all you do is get a white t-shirt. All my shirts had writing on them before, but the paint covered them up and made a complete new addition to my wardrobe. Take fabric paint (I also used fabric spray paint) and flick it, spread it, and pour it on the shirt. I suggest putting a lot of paint on, so that it seeps through both sides. You can also take Morris Louis’s lead and paint it on one side and later fold it. Every shirt is different, but they are so fun to make and very cathartic.

Showing off at a Macklemore & Ryan Lewis concert

Showing off at a Macklemore & Ryan Lewis concert

this is my smile

For this above shirt, I cut the sleeves to make a “bro tank” type shirt, but I think it looks really good as a shirt too.

191

 

190

Author: Kate T.

My day job is chief chocolate consumer at Godiva.

Leave a Reply

